top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarula

Move review: Hippie

“The more we allow the world in, the more we receive – be it love, be it hate.“

Paulo Coelho


For a very long time I’ve been thinking about buying any book written by Paulo Coelho. The thoughts have been changed into acts after the release of his newest book called Hippie. To be honest, whenever I’m buying a new book from the author I don’t really know, I have huge doubts due to some bad experiences. However, I have to admit form the very beginning of this article that after this book, Paulo Coelho is my new love and I can’t wait to read another work of his!


A few words about the book:


The book is some kind of autobiography of authors’ life in the period of flowers in head, the symbolic peace sign and getting to know yourself. The main part of the story takes place in the so-called magic bus on the way from Amsterdam to Nepal. During this journey, most of the characters look at their lives retrospectively and share their thoughts and desires. The author also talks about the not really smooth love of two people, who, more or less, randomly met at Dam Square in Amsterdam. Throughout the journey around Eurasia, they try to get to know themselves better in different situations and to find out the true value of love.


Review:


Most of the books I have read in the past few months were more or less spiritual. This one is not an exception. However, despite this fact, I would recommend it to everyone. Paulo Coleho uses a great style of writing. He kept my interest and made me want to read the book over and over again. And trust me, it’s not always easy for me. I think that so far it happened only with one book in my life (Erich Maria Remarque – All Quite on the Western Front). This work provides an amazing link between faith, otherness and simple life. In my opinion, everyone would find themselves in something, whether it would be fun, seriousness, relationship problems or deep thoughts. There is a small quote on the cover, which says: “A journey to the past. A map for the future.” This small quote covers all what’s hidden inside. In addition to that, I can tell you one thing, it doesn’t matter what end do you expect, after finishing the book you’ll close it and keep staring to the wall for a while with your head full of thoughts and your body completely taken by emotions.


If you’re like me and you’re choosing carefully or you cannot even finish the book once it’s not interesting for you after a few pages, I think this might be the right choice for you. Maybe you won’t find yourself the way I did. At the end of the day, it’s still just my opinion. Though, I really do think that the style of writing of Paulo Coelho would get you similarly. From now on, I can say that I am also thankful that the author kind of changed my point of view at life.




9 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page